COMP4461 HCI (Fall 2017)

Course Description
This course is a broad UG-level introduction to Human-Computer Interaction (HCI), with an emphasis on techniques, models, theories, and applications for designing, prototyping, and evaluating current and future interactive systems for human use. HCI is an interesting and important area of study, providing the human perspective to computing. Besides technology and innovation, it also touches on issues like ethics and social responsibilities related to technologies in the real world. Selected topics may include multimodal interaction design, ubiquitous/mobile computing, virtual/augmented reality, agents and robots, and HCI applications in various domains such as education, health, urban sustainability, scientific discoveries, etc.
  • Course structure: 3hr/week lectures + 4 in-class lab sessions/semester; Time, location, TA to be determined.
  • Course materials and announcements are posted on Slack. Course-related communication and assignment submission are conducted through this channel as well.
  • Course evaluation: 3 projects + midterm + participation; outcomes, grading schemes, assessment rubrics and references are in Course Description.
  • Prerequisites for course projects: web programming (e.g., html, css), object-oriented programming (e.g., C++, java), python.
  • Textbook info is below the syllabus. Other recommended readings see the reference list at the end of each lecture notes.

Syllabus (Wed Fri 4:30~5:50pm @ Rm4503 Lift25-26)
Week Date Topic Presenter Note
1 Fri Sep 1 Introduction to COMP4461 and to HCI Xiaojuan Ma P1.0 Topic announcement
2 Wed Sep 6 Human-Centric Design Xiaojuan Ma
2 Fri Sep 8 The Good, the Bad, the Ugly Class P1.1 Submit initial design of your portfolio page
3 Wed Sep 13 Understanding Humans Xiaojuan Ma
3 Fri Sep 15 Topic: Multimodal Interaction Xiaojuan Ma
4 Wed Sep 20 Lab 1: Web Development TA
4 Fri Sep 22 Design Thinking: Empathize Xiaojuan Ma P1.2 Submit revised design of your portfolio page
5 Wed Sep 27 Design Thinking: Ideate Xiaojuan Ma P2.0 Topic announcement
5 Fri Sep 29 Project 1 Portfolio Design Pitching Class P1.3 Peer evaluation
6 Wed Oct 4 Topic: Ubiquitous Computing Xiaojuan Ma
6 Fri Oct 6 Prototyping Xiaojuan Ma
7 Wed Oct 11 Lab 2: Prototyping Exercise TA
7 Fri Oct 13 Evaluation: Preparation and Questionnaire Xiaojuan Ma
8 Wed Oct 18 Evaluation: Experimental Design 1 Xiaojuan Ma
8 Fri Oct 20 Evaluation: Experimental Design 2 Xiaojuan Ma
9 Wed Oct 25 Mid-term Examination P2.1 Video paper submission; P3.0 Topic announcement
9 Fri Oct 27 Topic: Human-Robot Interaction (HRI) Xiaojuan Ma
10 Wed Nov 1 Project 2 Demonstration Class P2.2 Peer evaluation; P1.4 Launch portfolio page
10 Fri Nov 3 Lab 3: Robot Programming 1 TA CSE Lab 3
11 Wed Nov 8 Evaluation: Analysis Xiaojuan Ma
11 Fri Nov 10 Lab 4: Robot Programming 2 TA CSE Lab 3
12 Wed Nov 15 Topic: CSCW and Social Computing Xiaojuan Ma
12 Fri Nov 17 Topic: Virtual / Augmented Reality Xiaojuan Ma
13 Wed Nov 22 HCI: From Lab to the Real World Xiaojuan Ma
13 Fri Nov 24 Project 3 Showcase I Class P3.1 Peer Evaluation
14 Wed Nov 29 Project 3 Showcase II Class P3.1 Peer Evaluation

Textbook
REQUIRED:
OPTIONAL: