ACM International Collegiate Programming Contest 2004

Regional Contests: Manila

4th Place out of 44 Teams: Yang Yin, Leung Tsz Kin, Zhao Keliang

The Department of Computer Science has sent out 3 teams to join the Regional Contest of ACM International Collegiate Programming Contest 2004 which were held in Manila on November 12, 2004. The team formed by Mr. Yang Yin (PhD candidate), Mr. Leung Tsz Kin (CS Year 3 student) and Mr. Zhao Keliang (CS Year 1 student) has ranked 4 out of 44 teams from all over the Asia, which is the highest ranking among the teams from HKSAR. They have used 790 minutes to solve 5 questions. Prof. C. K. Tang is the coach of the teams. The other two teams ranked 15th and 26th respectively. All of them will participate in the Regional Contests which will be held in Shanghai on December 4-5, 2004.

Founded in 1970, the ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) International Collegiate Programming Contest (ICPC) has been regarded as an innovative initiative to assist in the development of top students in the emerging field of computer science. The contest has been based at Baylor University since the 1980s, with IBM’s sponsorship beginning 1997. Up to now, more than 10,000 participants of the contest are coming from over 1,300 universities from 68 countries on six continents.

Within the limited time, participants are being challenged for their creativity, teamwork, and innovation in building new software programs.

The contest is comprised of 4 levels of competitions:

Local contests:
Intra-university contest for selection of one or more teams to represent the universities at the next level of competition.
Preliminary contests:
Multi-university preliminary contests that advance teams to Regional contests.
Regional contests:
a total of 31 regional contests are held for teams around the world to compete for the opportunities for world finals.
Worlds final:
72 winners of the regional contests will compete in the World Finals which will be held in Prague.