Welcome from Acting Head of Department

Prof. Dit-Yan YEUNG, Acting Head of Department

Prof. Dit-Yan YEUNG, Acting Head of Department

We welcome you on behalf of the faculty, staff, and students of the Department of Computer Science and Engineering (CSE) at the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology (HKUST). These are exciting times for computer scientists as the discipline is now widely recognized as an essential source of tools and techniques for advancements in nearly all spheres of human endeavor.

Our Department was founded in 1991. Now it has grown to over 50 faculty members, roughly 270 postgraduate research students and 770 undergraduate students, and numerous research and support staff. We have three undergraduate programs - BEng in Computer Science, BEng in Computer Engineering (jointly administered with the Electronic and Computer Engineering (ECE) Department), and BSc in Computer Science - provide students with a broad range of choices. There are popular MSc-BDT and MSc-IT programs.

Our CSE at HKUST is research-oriented, student-centered Department. Some of the driving principles and goals of our Department are embodied in the following statements:

Mission Statement

To prepare undergraduate and post-graduate students for productive careers in industry, academia, and government by providing an excellent environment for teaching, learning, and research in the theory and applications of computing and information technology. In particular, we aim:

Vision Statements

To be a recognized leader in Computer Science and Engineering education and research:

Educational Objectives

The academic objectives of the Department of Computer Science and Engineering is to provide outstanding education and research programs that:

We welcome you to browse through the departmental web site. Whether you are a student, a parent, alumni, an employer, or a colleague, we want to hear from you. Your comments and suggestions will help us move to the next level and provide us with encouragement to maintain excellence.

Professor and Acting Head of Department